George & Anne Ryan Institute for Neuroscience

New ideas. New therapies. New advances in the fight against neurodegenerative disease.

Advisory Groups

Three advisory groups advise and guide development of the George & Anne Ryan Institute for Neuroscience.

  • The Rhode Island Advisory Committee is composed of scientists and clinicians representing every major participating organization in the state’s neuroscience community.

    Paula Grammas, Ph.D., Executive Director, George & Anne Ryan Institute for Neuroscience

    William Renehan, Ph.D., Associate Director, George & Anne Ryan Institute for Neuroscience

    Leigh Hochberg, M.D., Ph.D., Center for Neurorestoration and Neurotechnology, RI Department of Veterans Affairs

    Richard Horan, Senior Managing Director, Slater Technology Fund

    Diane Lipscombe, Ph.D., Executive Director, Brown Institute for Brain Sciences (BIBS)

    Edward Quinlan, Past President and CEO, Hospital Association of Rhode Island

    John Robson, Ph.D., Administrative Director, Norman Prince Neurosciences Institute and Associate Director, BIBS

    Stephen Salloway, M.D., M.S., Professor and Director of Neurology and Memory and Aging Program, Butler Hospital

    Peter Snyder, Ph.D., Professor and Chief Research Officer, Lifespan Hospital System

    Catherine Taylor, Project Advisor, URI Geriatric Education Center, and former Director of RI Division of Elderly Affairs

    Nasser Zawia, Ph.D., Professor and Dean of the Graduate School, URI

  • The National Scientific Advisory Board is a panel of distinguished researchers drawn from the global neuroscience community. This group is being formed during the summer and fall of 2016.

  • The National Advocacy Council will gather those who have an interest in supporting and advancing the Ryan Institute’s missions of research, discovery, and translational medicine. Individuals will be invited to join the council during the 2016–17 academic year.

Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.